Family and Motherhood · Life

The Pros and Cons of Being a Full Time Working Mom During the Summer

Hi Lovelies!

So today marks the official first day of summer. BBQ’s, beach trips, pool parties, and fun filled days are upon us. And for some reason I can’t help but to have a bit of the summer blues. 

But why would sunny summer days give me the blues. Well mainly because…I still have to be a grown up and work full time throughout the summer season! Man, what I wouldn’t give to go back to the days where I could just enjoy these long, carefree, and blissful moments. I honestly feel like I am missing out on all of the fun. 

Is that childish? Frankly, I don’t care! I would love to go back and relive some of my childhood. Especially summer, those are some of my fondest memories. 

But now as grown women and mothers we have the responsibility to provide for our little ones. I know how tough it can be to spend time away from your child(ren) at work while our loves are off at summer camps, the grandparents house, or summer sport activities. Personally because my work schedule conflicted with basically all of the summer activities in my town, I had to send my princess off to spend the summer with grandma. Ahh!!! Two months apart form my girl just seems like a lifetime! But we will get through it. 

Here is a brief pros and cons list I’ve come up with in regards to being a full time working mama during the summer. And a few tips to help cope with those summer blues. 

The cons

  • Spending time away form your child(ren). This by far is hardest part of being a full time working mom overall regardless of the season. Period. As mothers our deepest desire is to spend as much quality time with our little ones as possible. But it sure does throw salt in the wound when you kid is off having the time of thier life and you are stuck in a cubicle for 8 hours.


Cubicle life with my Tropical Green Smoothie (Let me know if you would like the recipe to this protein packed smoothie) 

  • The costs of summer camps/ day cares. The costs of some of these programs can sometimes be the equivalent of a rental or mortgage payment. However these programs are a great way to keep your child happy and busy during the summer. If you are looking for an alternative to these programs maybe consider having your child spend some quality time with their grandparent for the summer.
  • Dividing your attention. Working full time while your child is no longer in school for the summer can present many challenges. Now that your child is not fully focused on school work, social time with friends, and educational playtime they require a lot more of your attention. This can cause a divide between work life and mom life. 

The Pros

  • Continuous Income. Since we full time working mothers do generally work all year, we have the benefit of having steady income year round. Keeping that full time salary throughout the summer is vital in order to keep the bills paid while having fun too. 
  • Vacation/ PTO time. Most employers offer paid time off (PTO) and vacation time. A great tip is to save as much of your vacation time for the summer. Use that paid time off to go on a summer trip with your family. 

I hope these few tips have helped you if you have the full time working mama summer blues like I do. But I do want to stress the importance of appreciating life in every wonderful, stressful, blissful, and reminiscent moment that comes your way. Life is so amazing and shirt and we only have this one lifetime to live. 

Have you been spending you summer working? 

How do you find ways to spend quality time with your children during the summer?

      Leave a Reply

      