Life

What we did this weekend | Valentine’s 2016

Valentine’s Day…the day when your loved one put a little extra effort into showing you how much they care for you. This weekend started out great for our little family. Then turned sour on Valentine’s Day. 

I wish I could say we had a perfect day but life doesn’t always work out that way. Especially when you are living with a chronic disease like I am. But let’s start out with all the good stuff first! 

On Friday night my daughters after care program held a family night out for Valentine’s Day. So of course whenever there is a fun social event in my area we try to attend. While we were there I was able to see another side of my daughter Alana. The side that loves to hangout with her friends and joke around. I was so sweet seeing them together, and now I know the faces to all the names she is always talking about. 

  
We had a blast at that party. Eating, chatting with the other parents, and watching the kids play and dance was amazing. I live for moments like these. 

  
Then on Saturday, we attended a medieval theme birthday party. It was for my college girl friends nephew who just turned 3. What made this party so great is that I got to reconnect with two of my college friends who I have not seen in at least two years. So I was happy to see them and catch up a little bit. Plus I got to dress up my little girl in the cutest costume. 

   
 
That is actually her Lalaloopsy dress that happened to go perfectly with a medieval themed party. 

Then on Saturday night, since I was feeling so happy and energized, I decided to do the upper fix workout from 21 day fix. Well that apparently was not my brightest moment. I had to stop halfway through the workout due to excruciating pain down my back, hips, and shoulders. It felt like a huge wave of pain come over me all of a sudden.

I knew immediately to listen to my body and stop. And since I am living with sickle cell disease, things like these can be a trigger for a pain crisis. So I called it quits and went to sleep. 

Well on Sunday, Valentine’s Day, I woke up in so much pain that I couldn’t even get up out of bed. I wasn’t able or had any energy to do anything. In these moments when my sickle cell starts to flair up I am thankful for my hubby. 

He stepped up to the plate and did everything around the house for me yesterday. He made breakfast, lunch, and dinner for us. He put Alana to bed and even tended to her when she randomly threw up in the middle of the night. Yikes!

Needless to say we didn’t have the best Valentine’s Day. But I’m greatful to have a man who is willing and happy to take care of his girls without complaining. I’m also greatful for this 3 day weekend so I can take an extra day to recoup since I’m still feeling crummy. 

What did you do for Valentine’s Day? Did yours go the way you imagined or was it a mess?

Leave a Reply

